Texas Uniform Premarital Agreement Act

So far, UPAA/UPMAA has been taken over by 28 states and the District of Columbia: Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin. While the laws passed by the courts adopted by the UPAA/UPMAA have differences from state to state, this uniform framework of consistent laws has certainly made it easier for contractors to prepare pre-contractual agreements in accordance with the law by codifying the requirements. The UPAA was enacted to ensure that a pre-marital agreement validly entered into in one state is respected by the courts of another state where a couple could divorce.

This article was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow comments with the RSS feed for this post.Comments are closed, but you can leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /homepages/37/d329778075/htdocs/lifeshiftseminars/wordpress/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 405